the perfect man

I like to joke that Mr Jones is my boyfriend. Which still is fun, especially when someone doesn’t know that my VW has a name…OR what that name happens to be. Its always fun, when I say, “sure I’ll bring my boyfriend” and friends that know Im single give me a strange look. But really, I do love my bug.

Mr Jones & I have been together for nearly a year now. And as we approach our first anniversary, I have to say I am even more in love with him than I was when I met him. Interestingly, it’s the he, who he is inside; his quirks…not just his showy self, that make me love him even more.

And IF, I could find the human, male equivalent of Mr. Jones, I might just live…happily ever after.

what Mr. Right would have…that Mr Jones DOES:

Reliability. Mr Jones always starts. Sometimes he grumbles about it, sometimes it takes a little prodding, but he starts. And he always gets me where I’m going. He may not be the fastest car on the road, but he gets me there.

In his quiet…and sometimes NOT SO quiet way, Mr Jones, always makes me see that life is just a journey. That there is no rush, and that anything that goes wrong..can be fixed. He always has a positive outlook.

Mr Jones makes me see things from a different perspective. It happened slowly. Over time, but its funny how differently you read the road when you only have about a 4″ clearance on your front end. I didn’t realize how strange my driving is when I’m with Mr. Jones, until a good friend was riding with me, and she said…”where are you going?” “what are you doing?” a few times. Until I explained to her, I was avoiding pot holes, and steep driveways.

Mr Jones makes me smile. Even when I’m not driving him. If I’m just washing him, or give him some love as I pass by on my way in or out of the house. He always makes me smile.

Mr Jones has lots of personality. He gets noticed yes, but he also likes to make a scene, when he want more attention than what he’s getting. Just follow me uphill, with a stoplight at the top, and you’ll HEAR why.

Mr Jones, doesn’t require a lot of money. It’s the simple things in life that he loves and shares with me. Sometimes its just a Sunday drive or an oil change that can make for a great date.

Mr Jones, likes old school. it’s a little thing really. But whatever puts him in a good mood, puts me in a good mood. And really what is better in life, than driving down the road jammin’ some tunes, and being happy with your man?

Mr Jones knows how to make it work. So there is a wire thingy, for his gas door release, and you have to turn the knob left AND pull to open the glove box, and you might have to close the door 3 times before it closes right, and you have to lock the door if you dont want to fall out. And there is duct tape holding the seat cover together….(I could go on…) but it works. Right? Mr Jones understands, it not always what you want…its what you need.

Mr Jones isn’t perfect. He’s flashy, & attractive…yes (always an important quality) but he’s rough around the edges…and honestly…kind of a dirty old man inside. (which I secretly like) Not everything works, but the important stuff does. I have to say though, his engine IS shiny and when he’s coming down the road you can hear how much testosterone he’s got. Kinda makes my knees go weak…ya know?

And the best thing about Mr Jones? I know, that as long as I put effort into our ‘relationship’; keeping up the maintenance, and showing him how much I care…he will do the same. Sure, we’ll have a couple bad days here and there. We may require some ‘road-side assistance’ at one point or another.

But on the road of life…that stuff is just, ‘bumps in the road’.

About ogirl74

A quirky single mom of 2 ( and 3 pets). A professional something-er-other, who happens to LOVE classic VW's amongst a plethora of other things. Lox bagels, Pavarotti; baking; and the TV turned OFF.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in cars, classic cars, driving, simple living, vintage VW's, volkswagen. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is exactly how I feel about Martha!!! Oh it’s always nice to know that you’re not the only one who feels this way about ‘a big hunk of (old) metal 🙂

    Martha has her special ‘quirks’ (I see Mr Jones also comes with a ‘lock the door or you may fall out’ warning!) but I love her all the more for it.

    She is currently laid up outside with a half on/half off exhaust, but we will sort that out tomorrow, I was tempted to leave it half off, I sort of liked the attention the backiring tractor noise got us…

  2. I giggle every time Mr Jones backfires. All heads turn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

