An American Icon?

This is a much debated subject. I think most VW owners love VW, and think of VWs as a classic american car. An icon of an era.

There is also the contingent that cant stand them, call them’ tin cans’, ‘not worth driving’ and  ‘should be junked’.

And while it is true its a German car with very historical European roots, (Porsche designed it and Hitler provided the initial financing for the production of 600 vehicles-thank goodness his involvement ended there…) I side with those who have a great affection for VWs.

My earliest memories in include my grandpa who was a tax preparer, driving his yellow bug to his rather affluent clients homes on 17 mile drive in Monterey. My dad driving our 76 bay bus, to the top of Mt Shasta. I remember my mom making a little snowman on the top of the tire mounted on the front of the bus. It lasted almost all the way home! 🙂

I remember my dad having a little white clunker beetle to get him to classes when I was in grade school and he was in med school.

And I remember making him park that same orange bay bus 2 blocks from the front of the high school when he dropped me off in the morning. Because our 12 year old car was an embarressment.

My first car, though I never drove it was a VW fox wagon. A family friend gave it to me as a 16th birthday present. My dad didnt think it was safe for me to drive. So I washed it and sat in it, until I traded it in on my other first car. a much “safer” <cough!>nissan<cough!>

My first new car, I went right back to VW. And bought a shiny green passat wagon. (which I later gave to my x in the divorce) I still miss my passat.

So while for some its just a crap german car – for me VW’s are part of pretty much every story of my life.

and to me, that makes it nostalgic americana.

Happy 4th of July! I hope you spend your independance day with those you love most. Enjoying each other….and if your lucky enough to have one…your Volkswagen.

A red white n blue bug parade….

About ogirl74

A quirky single mom of 2 ( and 3 pets). A professional something-er-other, who happens to LOVE classic VW's amongst a plethora of other things. Lox bagels, Pavarotti; baking; and the TV turned OFF.

Posted on July 1, 2011, in americana, cars, classic cars, community, driving, fourth of july, icon, memories, Uncategorized, vintage VW's, volkswagen, VW's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

