Mr Jones has dark roots.

A little about Mr. Jones:

Mr Jones (or Jonesy) is a bright yellow 1972 Super Beetle, 1641cc dual port. The first day I saw him I fell for him. My friend Jon was his owner then, and when he announced Mr Jones was for sale – I jumped!
The first time I test drove him, I missed reverse and rolled into a curb. He forgave me. 🙂 I got a look under his hood that night too. He had dark roots! (Mr Jones, was Samba green originally.)

He’s in great shape! Lots of original and lots of extra’s too. Between the sound of his woofer, and the glass pack muffler. Im not sure which people hear first when I pull around the corner…but it sure is nice when people meet you at the door with “I heard you coming.”  😀

He has parts to fix….of course. And I hope that during our time together, I can learn lots n lots!

Mr Jones was named by Jon and his wife Toni. His name comes from the Counting Crows song of the same name. You know…”Mr Jones and me, stare at the beautiful women..” Well, the girls sure do stare at Mr Jones!!! I did!

About Me:

Im a single mom of two. In my mid-somethin er others. I grew up in Monterey & The SF South Bay. My family had VW’s ALL  of my growing up. As an adult, I’ve already owned 2. I think, they are in my future too. Its part of my blood at this point.

Since I have a partiality to classic VWs, I think I’d better learn to take care of them.

My friends Jon and Ted, and my online research has taught me some already. But I’ve only ‘helped’ change the struts (cuz he’s low yo!) recharged his battery once, and changed the oil. I have many projects awaiting me.

Can’t wait!

o girl

For now – Ogirl n Mr. Jones

About ogirl74

A quirky single mom of 2 ( and 3 pets). A professional something-er-other, who happens to LOVE classic VW's amongst a plethora of other things. Lox bagels, Pavarotti; baking; and the TV turned OFF.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Mr Jones n O - Vdub MIss-adventures, Volkswagon. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

